Parsing of data: on the two sides of the ocean

We're all active on social media, posting information about ourselves. But have you thought about the fact that information intermediaries, including social media owners or third parties, can use it against you? And it's not just about the names, the texts you write, but also your photos, subscriptions, playlists, geolocation.

There are plenty of firms on the market that make a fortune from selling personal data (or analytics). Typically, they are used to provide advertising services, create user profiles, or improve service quality. Sometimes advertisements for selling personal data can be found on hacker forums.

In this long read we will discuss parsing and two opposite approaches, established in the United States, where the consent of users of social networks is not required for parsing personal data, and in Russia, where it is required since March 2021
What is parsing?

Parsing is the automated collection of information, which is carried out with the help of a special bot (parser), which, just like a bug, moves through the pages and collects the necessary information for the customer. Parsing allows you to reduce costs, and in this sense, it is more profitable to the customer than the mechanical collection of information, which is both time consuming and costly. At the same time, parsing, in fact give a free pass to such customers, because your data is not just viewed, but also copied into the storage of a computer device, and therefore it can be freely used.

As it comes to ethical side of parsing, this technology appears as an absolute evil, therefore, it should be banned. But in today's economy, this is virtually impossible: those, who offer parsing services, will simply move into the shadow market, and citizens will be left without minimal guarantees of protection of their rights. It seems quite realistic to establish a reasonable balance between such constitutionally important values as privacy and the freedom to seek, receive, transmit, reproduce and disseminate information.

In Russia, this balance has swung towards privacy.
To begin with, the untargeted processing of personal data is prohibited by Article 5 of the Federal Law on personal data of 2006.
For example, users of social networks are unlikely to publish their data for credit institutions, which collect data for the purpose of profiling people as potential borrowers (credit scoring). And it is even more unlikely that they expect to encounter the difficulties that may arise in obtaining credit as a result of the bank's examination of the profile. Of course for the banks the profile of a person who visited 50 countries per a year, looks more attractive than a half-empty profile with pictures of cats in a country setting. By the way, one of the most high-profile cases of the last few years (VK v. Double Data) is just about that (link to the case).


But if, for example, someone parses the website of the marketplace Avito, where you sell your car, and then your data are placed on their site – to "help" you sell it, a different justification for the illegality of parsing is used.
In March 2021 some changes were made to Article 10.1 of the Act. Their outcome can be summarized as follows:


For individuals who registered on social media:

Often, infringers cite that their actions fall under an exemption provided by law for search engines. Search engines such as Google and Yandex regularly parse web pages and are not held liable. The reason is that providing the service of searching the information posted by data subjects on the Internet, as long as personal data are included in the search engine index (keywords table), is not a violation of Article 10.1 of the Federal Law on personal data of 2006. This is referred to the case of VK against Double Ltd
What to do if you encounter parsing of your personal data?

You have the right to demand from the operator (hereinafter – the social network) to stop transferring personal data to third parties and from the third parties themselves who process personal data to stop it. Finding such perpetrators, even through the operator, can be difficult, as parsing programmes allows to remain anonymous, as well as bypass established security measures that protect data from being copied.

You have the opportunity to request information from the bank, as it is the "buyer" of your personal data in the credit scoring example.

If a legally decision was made based solely on the automated processing of personal data without your written consent as the data subject, the perpetrator may be held legally liable under Clause 2 Article 13.11 of the Code of Administrative Offences, and the decision itself can be challenged.
Can you minimize the risks of parsing consequences?

It is unlikely to minimize such risks technically. However, you can make it a habit to read the relevant provisions of the privacy policy of the social networks, and make your profiles private.

In European countries personal data is primarily seen as a non-property good, an extension of the individual, while in the U.S. it is viewed as a commodity in respect of which its owners have legitimate interests. That is why in the U.S. the balance has swung in the direction of the freedom to freely seek, receive, transmit, produce and disseminate information.


U.S. courts believe that it is unecessary to obtain consent from the subject to whom the data belongs to process personal data. This approach is understandable: it doesn't matter as much who views the page – the parser-bot or the user – as long as the requirements for ethical parsing are met

The "moral minimum" of legitimate parsing in this case includes the following standards:

1. The copyright of the site content and related database rights are not violated.


2. Technical protection measures are not circumvented.

A number of parsers can quite easily bypass the restrictions, while remaining anonymous. Specialists advise to take a complex approach to site protection, in particular, to use:


  • limiting the data retrieval speed by establishing one search per IP address per second
  • tracking unusual activity (multiple requests from one IP address), using parser detection techniques
  • Require mandatory login to view the site
  • Use captchas for requests (usually look like this: "enter code from picture")
  • regular HTML editing
  • using cookies.

However, you should understand that operators often have to choose between protecting data from parsing and impairing the availability of services for users and search engines. In particular, there may be failures in the operation of sites.


3. No unfair competition (e.g. a company aggregates product information from the sites of several online stores, but does not sell the goods itself, but redirects users to the site of an online store).


4. No losses from failure of the site. Parsers can send several times more requests per second than humans, and it causes a load on the sites - they stop working. If the site is used, for example, as a platform for commercial ads, it can cause huge losses for the site owner.


5. Personal data is used in accordance with the purposes for which it is provided and does not have negative consequences for its subject.

Conclusion:
There are no right and wrong approaches in the choice of regulation, there are only certain legal traditions and priorities that are specific to individual governments. The convergence between approaches takes place at the political level. It is characterized by the desire to find a reasonable balance between the right to information, the development of technology on the one hand and the human right to privacy on the other.

Interesting Cases:


Russian case law: VK v. Double Data


Foreign case law:

1. HIQ Labs, Inc. v. Linkedin Corp (273 F. Supp. 3d 1099 (N.D. Cal.2017)).

2. Linkedln v. Robocog Inc. (Case No. 14-00068 (N.D. Cal. 2014)).

3. QVC, Inc. v. Resultly, LLC (99 F. Supp. 3d 525 (2015).

4. EBay v. Bidder's Edge, 100 F. Supp. 2d 1058 (N.D. Cal. 2000).

5. Maximillian Schrems v. Data Protection Commissioner (Case C-362/14).


Useful Internet resources:


1. Parsing sites. Russia and the World. What does one of the most useful tools look like in terms of the law?

https://vc.ru/legal/64328-parsing-saytov-rossiya-i-mir-kak-s-tochki-zreniya-zakona-vyglyadit-odin-iz-samyh-poleznyh-instrumentov

2. How to protect your site from parsing data. Practical tips

https://vc.ru/services/262190-kak-zashchitit-svoy-sayt-ot-parsinga-dannyh-prakticheskie-sovety

3. Deloitte CIS webinar. Parsing: how not to violate the exclusive rights to other people's content.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cra-i4GZ4go

4. Webinar IP IT BOX Legal Consequences of the VKontakte v. Double data

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28yxT52JuX8

5. IP IT BOX webinar 519-FZ: new rules on personal data processing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwUKnRr6jhs&t=1012s


Additional literature:


1. Saveliev A. I. Scientific and practical article-by-article commentary on the Federal Law "On personal data"

2. Rozhkova M.A. Resolving the question of the legality of parsing (scraping) in vkontakte v. double data

Oreshin E.I. The VKontakte VS double data case on the use of publicly available user data: double data position before the Court of Intellectual Rights

Парсинг данных: по двум сторонам океана

Мы все активно ведем социальные сети, выкладываем информацию о себе. Но думали ли вы о том, что такая информация может быть использована информационными посредниками, в том числе владельцами социальных сетей или третьими лицами против вас? И речь идет не только о ФИО, текстах, которые вы пишете, но и о фотографиях, подписках на группы, плейлистах, геолокациях.

На рынке множество фирм, которые зарабатывают миллионы на продаже персональных данных (или результатов аналитики таких данных). Как правило, они используются для предоставления рекламных услуг, составления профайлов пользователей или для улучшения качества сервиса. Иногда объявления о продаже персональных данных можно найти на хакерских форумах.

В этом лонгриде речь пойдет о парсинге и о двух противоположных подходах, которые установлены в Соединенных Штатах Америки, где для парсинга персональных данных согласие пользователей социальной сети не требуется, и в России, где оно с марта 2021 года необходимо.

Что такое парсинг
Парсинг это автоматизированный сбор информации, который осуществляется с помощью специального бота (парсера), который, как жучок, перемещается по страницам и собирает нужную для заказчика информацию. Парсинг позволяет снизить издержки, и в этом смысле он более выгоден заказчику, чем механический сбор информации, требующий огромных временных и материальных ресурсов. Вместе с тем парсинг, по сути, «развязывает руки» таким заказчикам, ведь ваши данные не просто просматриваются, но и копируются в память компьютерного устройства, а следовательно, они могут быть свободно использованы.

Кажется, что парсинг это абсолютное зло, и его нужно запретить. Но в условиях современной экономики сделать это фактически невозможно: лица, предлагающие услуги парсинга, просто перейдут в теневой рынок, а граждане останутся без минимальных гарантий защиты своих прав. Представляется вполне реальным установление разумного баланса между такими конституционно-значимыми ценностями, как неприкосновенность частной жизни и свобода поиска, получения, передачи, воспроизводства и распространения информации.

В России этот баланс качнулся в сторону приватности.
Начнем с того, что нецелевая обработка персональных данных прямо запрещена статьей 5 Закона о персональных данных. Так, при ведении социальных сетей пользователи вряд ли публикуют свои данные для кредитных организаций, которые собирают данные с целью составления профиля человека как потенциального заемщика (кредитный скоринг). И тем более вряд ли ожидают столкновения с теми трудностями, которые могут возникнуть при получении кредита в результате изучения банком профайла. Конечно же для банков профиль человека, который посетил 50 стран за год, выглядит более привлекательно, чем полупустой профиль с фотографиями котов в дачной обстановке. Кстати, одно из самых громких дел за последние несколько лет (VK v. Double Data) как раз об этом (подробнее его можно посмотреть по ссылке).


Но если, например, кто-то парсит сайт маркетплейса Авито, где вы продаете свою машину, а потом ваши данные размещают на своем сайте — как бы с целью «помочь» вам ее продать, используется иное обоснование незаконности парсинга.
В марте 2021 года были внесены изменения в ст. 10.1 Закона, их итоги можно представить следующим образом:

для лиц, которые зарегистрировались в социальных сетях

Часто нарушители ссылаются на то, что их действия подпадают под изъятие, предусмотренное судебной практикой для поисковых систем. Такие поисковые системы, как Google и Яндекс, регулярно парсят веб-страницы и не привлекаются к ответственности, так как предоставление услуги поиска информации, размещенной субъектами персональных данных в сети Интернет, при условии, что персональные данные попадают в индекс поисковой системы (таблицу ключевых слов), не является нарушением статьи 10.1 Закона о персональных данных. В частности, на это ссылается ООО «Дабл» в деле против ВКонтакте.
Что делать, если вы столкнулись с парсингом своих персональных данных?

Вы вправе требовать от первоначального оператора (здесь – социальная сеть) прекращения передачи персональных данных третьим лицам и от самих третьих лиц, которые осуществляют обработку персональных данных, ее прекращения. Найти таких нарушителей даже через первоначального оператора бывает непросто, так как при парсинге есть возможность сохранить анонимность, а также обойти установленные меры безопасности, защищающие данные от копирования.

В приведенном примере с кредитным скорингом у вас есть возможность запросить информацию у банка, так как он является «покупателем» ваших персональных данных.

Если юридически значимые решения в отношении вас были приняты исключительно на основе автоматизированной обработки персональных данных без вашего письменного согласия как субъекта персональных данных, правонарушителя можно попробовать привлечь к административной ответственности по ч. 2 ст. 13.11 КОАП, а само решение –  оспорить.
Можете ли вы минимизировать риски возникновения последствий парсинга?

Вряд ли. Однако можно ввести в привычку чтение соответствующих положений политики конфиденциальности социальных сетей, в которых вы регистрируетесь, и делать закрытыми профили.

В европейских странах персональные данные рассматриваются в первую очередь как неимущественное благо, продолжение личности, в США же они рассматриваются как товар, в отношении которого у его владельцев есть законные интересы. Именно поэтому в США баланс качнулся в сторону свободы свободно искать, получать, передавать, производить и распространять информацию.


Американские суды считают, что получения согласия на обработку персональных данных у субъекта, которому эти данные принадлежат, не нужно. Этот подход, в принципе, понятен: не так важно, кто просматривает страницу — парсер-бот или пользователь, — если соблюдаются требования этичного парсинга.

«Минимум нравственности» законного парсинга при этом включает в себя следующие стандарты:

1. Авторские права на материалы сайта и смежные права на базу данных не нарушаются.

2. Технические мер защиты не обходятся. Ряд парсеров может достаточно легко обойти установленные ограничения, при этом оставшись анонимными. Специалисты советуют комплексно подходить к защите сайтов, в частности, использовать:

  • ограничение скорости получения данных посредством установления одного поиска на один IP адрес в секунду
  • отслеживание необычной активности (несколько запросов с одного IP адреса), использование способов распознавания парсеров
  • установление обязательной авторизации для просмотра сайта
  • использование капчи для запросов (обычно выглядят так: «введите код с картинки»)
  • регулярное редактирование HTML-кода
  • использование файлов cookies.

Однако следует понимать, что операторам часто приходится выбирать между защитой данных от парсинга и ухудшением доступности оказываемых услуг для пользователей и поисковиков. В частности, могут возникать сбои в работе сайтов.


3. Отсутствует недобросовестная конкуренция (например, компания агрегирует информацию о товарах с сайтов нескольких интернет-магазинов, но не продает товары сама, а перенаправляет пользователей на сайт интернет-магазина).


4. Отсутствуют убытки от сбоя в работе сайта. Парсеры могут посылать в несколько раз больше запросов в секунду, чем человек, и это вызывает нагрузку на сайты — они перестают работать. Если сайт используется, например, в качестве платформы для коммерческих объявлений, то это может повлечь огромные убытки для владельца сайта.


5. Персональные данные используются в соответствии с целями их предоставления и не влекут негативных последствий для их субъекта.

Вывод:
Нет правильных и неправильных подходов в выборе регулирования, есть только определенные правовые традиции и приоритеты, которые характерны для отдельных государств. Сближение между подходами проходит на политико-правовом уровне. Оно характеризуется стремлением к поиску разумного баланса между правом на информацию, развитием технологий с одной стороны и правом человека на приватность — с другой.

Интересные кейсы:


Российская судебная практика: VK v. Double Data

Зарубежная судебная практика:

1. HIQ Labs, Inc. v. Linkedin Corp (273 F. Supp. 3d 1099 (N.D. Cal.2017)).

2. Linkedln v. Robocog Inc. (Case № 14-00068 (N.D. Cal. 2014)).

3. QVC, Inc. v. Resultly, LLC (99 F. Supp. 3d 525 (2015).

4. EBay v. Bidder's Edge, 100 F. Supp. 2d 1058 (N.D. Cal. 2000).

5. Maximillian Schrems v. Data Protection Commissioner (Case C-362/14).


Полезные интернет- ресурсы:


1. Парсинг сайтов. Россия и мир. Как с точки зрения закона выглядит один из самых полезных инструментов? https://vc.ru/legal/64328-parsing-saytov-rossiya-i-mir-kak-s-tochki-zreniya-zakona-vyglyadit-odin-iz-samyh-poleznyh-instrumentov

2. Как защитить свой сайт от парсинга данных. Практические советы https://vc.ru/services/262190-kak-zashchitit-svoy-sayt-ot-parsinga-dannyh-prakticheskie-sovety

3. Вебинар Deloitte CIS. Парсинг: как не нарушить исключительные права на чужой контент. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cra-i4GZ4go

4. Вебинар IP IT BOX Правовые последствия решения по делу ВКонтакте v. Double data https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28yxT52JuX8

5. Вебинар IP IT BOX 519-ФЗ: новые правила обработки персональных данных https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwUKnRr6jhs&t=1012s


Дополнительная литература:


1. Савельев А.И. Научно-практический постатейный комментарий к Федеральному закону «О персональных данных»

2. Рожкова М.А. Разрешение вопроса о легальности парсинга (скрапинга) в деле вконтакте v. double data

3. Орешин Е.И. Дело ВКонтакте VS Дабл об использовании общедоступных данных пользователей: позиция Дабл в Суде по интеллектуальным правам